Volunteering at Ranelagh Primary School

p1010658

Yesterday was the first time that I had volunteered at any  event at this place but a few weeks back thought to myself what a fantastically different thing to do. I thought no I don’t need to take the bus I can get there as fast as it would take me to get to Ranelagh Primary School, so after a quick visit to the Mobile Garden City I made it to the school, with quite a bit of running alongside a little bit of walking. I got there around 10 to one 1 & then waited around 20 minutes until we were seen by the person who was in charge of us for the day.

I did not realise that when I signed up to this opportunity that it would be 2 & half hours of preparation & then we got in there & I helped take out the mince pies & then that was it & then for the next few hours I was with this guy Brandon & the one thing that I wished I had said was do I need to have a DBS Checked thing & if so I would have brought the one I have from Waltham Forest. I then was helping him as I said for a few hours, like moving tables, moving raffle prizes & then when the winter fayre started my role was basically just making sure that the door was kept open, the strange thing was that I saw Sue & it was a bit weird & then I did manage to get a slice of cake, cherry cola & coffee & then it was O.K but this does remind me to write to Active Newham to give them feedback on the volunteering session.

Leave a Reply

